Axel Vervoordt

Tàpies. Lo sguardo dell’ artista (The eye of the artist)

Palazzo Fortuny
Campo San Beneto 3958
vaporetto: S. Angelo or S. Samuele
1 June - 29 September 2013 

This summer, during the 55th International Venice Art Biennale, the Palazzo Fortuny presents: ‘Tàpies. Lo sguardo dell’artista’ (Tàpies. The eye of the artist)’. This exhibition is organised by the Fondazione Musei Civici di Venezia and the Axel and May Vervoordt Foundation and is curated by Toni Tàpies, Natasha Hébert, Daniela Ferretti, and Axel Vervoordt.

The Catalan artist Antoni Tàpies (Barcelona, 1923-2012) was deeply interested in existential questions. His passion for art was directly related to his need to understand the mysteries of life and his desire to capture the enigmatic nature of art. Constantly searching for a common link between the different cultures, geographies, and periods of human history, this spiritual search was his central preoccupation. He also showed an interest in more empirical matters such as science, as well as the theoretical quest to map the relation between art and aesthetics. Tàpies was influenced by philosophers and scholars of religion and science, as well as Old Master painters and contemporary artists. The osmosis of these elements guided him through his life as an artist and as a collector. By embracing the unknown and exploring these paradoxes, Tàpies became a prolific and inspired artist.

The exhibition in the Palazzo Fortuny is curated in close collaboration with the Tàpies family. It will show an important selection of Tàpies’ work in the broader context of his own private art collection, within the intimate setting of the house of Mariano Fortuny - a fellow eclectic collector. The aim of the exhibition is to show the spirit of Tàpies’ art and to present his extraordinary eye, both as a collector and an artist. The works in this exhibition have been selected from his own house and most of them have never been shown to the public before. The works will be curated from an intuitive and emotional perspective, rather than providing

a chronological overview of his oeuvre. Works from his private collection, 20th century masters such as Joan Miró, Pablo Picasso, Kazuo Shiraga, Franz Kline, Jackson Pollock, and Jannis Kounellis, will be presented alongside ancient oriental and tribal sculptures.

Works by a number of prolific living artists, carefully selected by the curators, will be presented as a tribute to Tàpies. Some of these artists were closely related to Tàpies, others have been chosen because of the way their work addresses similar questions regarding the mysterious and the inexplicable. These artists include Perejaume Borrell, Anthony Caro, Lawrence Carroll, Giuseppe Antoni Llena, Kichizaemon Raku, Shiro Tsujimura, and Gunther Uecker.

Antoni Tàpies was also fascinated by contemporary music and composers such as Schöenberg, Alban Berg, Shelsi, John Cage and Anton Webern, and a selection of their work will be played throughout the Palazzo. In addition, various films on Tàpies will be projected in the museum to give a personal insight in the artist’s ideas, concepts, and philosophy.

Also on display will be several important art books containing powerful lithographs produced by Tàpies in collaboration with writers and poets. These books include El Pa a la Barca, 1963 by Joan Brossa, La nuit grandissante, 1968 by Jacques Dupin, Air, 1971 by André du Bouchet, and Roman Elegies, 1993 by Joseph Brodsky, amongst others

The catalogue (SKIRA, 2013) will present all the works in the exhibition as well as a selection of Antoni Tàpies’ favourite artworks and books. It contains essays by Natasha Hébert inspired by the writings of Antoni Tàpies and an essay by Axel Vervoordt on ‘the Eye of the artist’.

Axel Vervoordt

Tàpies. Lo sguardo dell’ artista (Le regard de l’artiste)

Palazzo Fortuny
Campo San Beneto 3958
vaporetto: S. Angelo or S. Samuele
1 juin - 29 septembre 2013 

A l’occasion de la 55ème édition de la Biennale de Venise, le Palazzo Fortuny présente « Tàpies. Lo sguardo dell’artista (Tàpies. Le regard de l’artiste) ». Cette exposition est organisée par la Fondazione Musei Civici di Venezia et la Axel and May Vervoordt Foundation. Les commissaires d’exposition sont Toni Tàpies, Natasha Hébert, Daniela Ferretti et Axel Vervoordt.

L’artiste Catalan Antoni Tàpies (Barcelone, 1923-2012) était fortement intéressé par les questions existentielles. Sa passion pour l’art fut nourrie par son besoin d’interroger l’incompréhensible, de capturer la nature énigmatique de l’art, et de rechercher les liens communs entre les différentes cultures, géographies et périodes de l’humanité, quête spirituelle qui fut sa préoccupation centrale. Tapiès fit preuve, tout au long de sa vie, d’un intérêt particulier pour la science et pour la théorisation des relations entre l’art et l’esthétique. Il fut influencé par des philosophes et intellectuels issus du monde scientifique et religieux, mais aussi par certains grands maîtres de la peinture et artistes contemporains. C’est cette philosophie qui le guida tout au long de sa vie d’artiste et de collectionneur et en fit une personnalité particulièrement prolifique et visionnaire.

L’exposition au Palazzo Fortuny est organisée en collaboration étroite avec la famille Tàpies. Elle dévoilera une importante sélection de l’oeuvre de Tàpies ainsi que de sa collection privée, dans le cadre intimiste de la maison de Mariano Fortuny, lui aussi collectionneur éclectique. L’objectif de cette exposition est de présenter l’essence de l’oeuvre de Tàpies et de dévoiler son intuition artistique et son oeil extraordinaire, aussi bien en tant qu’artiste que collectionneur. Les pièces de cette exposition ont été sélectionnées dans sa collection privée et n’ont jamais été exposées publiquement auparavant. L’approche curatoriale privilégiera une vision émotionnelle et intuitive plutôt que chronologique. Des oeuvres d’artistes d’envergure tels que Joan Miró, Pablo Picasso, Kazuo Shiraga, Franz Kline, Jackson Pollock et Jannis Kounellis seront présentées, aux côtés de sculptures anciennes tribales et orientales.

Des oeuvres d’artistes contemporains prolifiques, sélectionnées avec soin par les commissaires, seront exposées en hommage à Tàpies. Certains de ces artistes étaient étroitement liés à Tàpies, tandis que d’autres sont engagés dans une démarche et des questionnements similaires à ceux de l’artiste Catalan. Ces artistes comprennent Perejaume Borrell, Anthony Caro, Lawrence Carroll, Giuseppe Antoni Llena, Kichizaemon Raku, Shiro Tsujimura et Gunther Uecker.

Antoni Tàpies était également fasciné par les créations de compositeurs contemporains tels que Schöenberg, Alban Berg, Shelsi, John Cage et Anton Webern. Une sélection de leurs oeuvres sera d’ailleurs jouée au sein du Palazzo Fortuny. De plus, des films sur Tàpies seront projetés dans l’espace afin de dévoiler des éléments de ses idées et de sa philosophie.

Enfin, plusieurs livres d’artistes contenant des lithographies produites par Tàpies en collaboration avec des écrivains et des poètes seront exposées. Ces publications limitées comprennent El Pa a la Barca, 1963 de Joan Brossa, La nuit grandissante, 1968 de Jacques Dupin, Air, 1971 de André du Bouchet, et Roman Elegies, 1993 de Joseph Brodsky.

Le catalogue de l’exposition (SKIRA, 2013) présentera toutes les oeuvres de l’exposition ainsi qu’une sélection d’oeuvres influentes pour Antoni Tàpies. Il contient des articles et essais d’art de Natasha Tàpies, inspirés par les écrits d’Antoni Tàpies, un essai de Toni Tàpies sur la’rt de collectioneer de son père ainsi qu’un essai par Axel Vervoordt sur « le regard de l’artiste ».