Koen Vanmechelen (Pav 0)

Evolution of a Hybrid – CC®P

Pavilion 0
Signum Foundation Palazzo Donà, Campo San Polo 2177
55th International Art Exhibition
la Biennale di Venezia
1 June – 30 September 2013

This installation consists of a transparent container, lit by breeding lamps, which stores three 3D prints. They illustrate the DNA structures of three chickens. Two are inbreeds, the other one is a cross-breed. Fascinatingly, the latter is different and clearly stands out as an outsider in this group. It has outward peaks all over. The rough points on the chromosomes of the hybrid probably give more immunity. Reaching out, diminishing the distance, longing for the Other is dangerous, brave and ultimately rewarding.

Context: Pavilion 0 is a transnational pavilion of a country which does not exist, of common future, of utopia. On this year’s 55th Venice Biennale a record high number of national pavilions will be presented together with a big number of accompanying art events. This mutual curiosity and the need to learn about the neighbours within Europe has undoubtedly been and still is valuable, however, nowadays it may seem outdated. While searching for a vision of future, art should not be competing with science, statistics, banking or politics. It uses different research tools, reaching for different fields of experience. Its non-verbal, sensual language of communication inspires a totally different field of reflexion. Maybe the mission of art is not to explain anything but to reach the man in a way that releases his or her esteem for their individual existence, in a way that provokes questions regarding world’s integrity on all the different levels of existence.
Therefore, the exhibition organised by Mediations Biennale Foundation in partnership with Signum Foundation (Poznań) will not be a proclamation of any ideology, a futurist vision of what is to come, but a maze of intuitions pertaining to the constantly unravelling future.
We hope that since this year “Pavilion 0” will accompany the Venice Biennale as a regular, transnational art event – a space of dialogue of art and artists with reality, above all divisions. During the exhibition a Lion Award will be bestowed to the artist who exerts global influence. It will be a faithful copy of the lion from Palazzo Donà, manufactured in Murano glass workshop in Venice.

Bio

The Belgian conceptual artist Koen Vanmechelen (1965) is internationally renowned for his Cosmopolitan Chicken Project, a worldwide artistic breeding project. His work, an ode to life, revolves around two major themes: biocultural diversity and identity. His artistic tool is gallus gallus, the chicken, and its egg.
For his projects, the artist collaborates with alpha-and beta scientists from all over the world. The reason why in the spring of 2010 he was awarded with an honorary doctorate from the University of Hasselt (B). Always on the move, he is forever looking for wormholes between his work and the world.
The Belgian artist Koen Vanmechelen (1965) is an internationally renowned, conceptual artist. His groundbreaking work deals with diversity and identity. Over the past decade Vanmechelen has collaborated with scientists from different disciplines. That earned him an honorary doctorate at the University of Hasselt this year.

Just before the millennium year 2000, Koen Vanmechelen launched his Cosmopolitan Chicken Project (CCP), a unique artistic project. Central to his work are the chicken (gallus gallus) and the interbreeding of national chicken species into ‘Cosmopolitan chickens’. He uses this animal as a metaphor for observations around ‘la condition humaine’. In 2010 he presented the latest generation, the ‘Mechelse Silky’, at the World Expo in Shanghai. This year the artist has been selected by the Biennial of Venice, to breed the new crossing with the Egyptian Fayoumi during the 54th Biennial.  Vanmechelen uses a plethora of artistic tools for his work - from painting and video to installations, sculpture and glass -, which includes three projects. These are: the ‘Cosmopolitan Chicken Research Project’ (CC®P), the wooden statue ‘Cosmogolem’ and the fertility project ‘Walking Egg’. In 2011 the supporting foundations will be grouped into a new institute in Hasselt with the preliminary name ‘Open University of Diversity’.
Vanmechelen has presented his work on almost all continents, from the U.S. to China and Iceland to Senegal. In Belgium his work was exhibited in many museums and other loci: the Verbeke Foundation, Watou, Museum M and Z33. Furthermore, he participated in solo and group exhibitions in among others the National Gallery London, Victoria and Albert Museum (London), Museum Kunst Palast (Düsseldorf), Projects Venice (Venice), Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ (Amsterdam) and Pushkin Museum (Moscow). His work was also shown at the Biennales of Venice, Moscow, Dakar and Poznan and at the Shanghai World Expo 2010.
Vanmechelen lives in Meeuwen-Gruitrode.
*Koen Vanmechelen also presents two works at the collateral event, Glasstress White Light, White Heat on two other locations during the Biennial (Under my skin - Franchetti | Patience –Murano).

Location: 
Pavilion 0
Signum Foundation Palazzo Donà, Campo San Polo 2177
55ste Internationale Kunsttentoonstelling – la Biennale di Venezia

www.koenvanmechelen.com
www.pavilion0.net
www.ccrp.be

Koen Vanmechelen (Pav 0)

Pavilion 0
Signum Foundation Palazzo Donà, Campo San Polo 2177
55ème Exposition internationale d’art contemporain
la Biennale di Venezia
1er juin – 30 septembre 2013

L’installation de Koen Vanmechelen au Pavilion 0 se compose d’un récipient transparent éclairé par des lampes à infrarouge, comprenant trois impressions en 3D. Elles illustrent les structures ADN de trois poulets. Deux sont consanguins, et l’autre est un hybride. Il est fascinant de voir combien ce dernier diffère des premiers et a clairement la position d’outsider dans ce groupe. Son ADN est recouvert de picots. Les points rugueux sur les chromosomes de l’hybride augmentent sans doute son immunité. Tendre la main aux autres, réduire les distances entre individus, désirer l’Autre : voilà des activités dangereuses, courageuses et finalement enrichissantes. 

Contexte: Pavilion 0 est le pavillon transnational d’un pays qui n’existe pas, d’un futur commun, d’une utopie. Pour cette 55ème édition de la Biennale de Venise, un nombre record de pavillons sera accompagné d’une pléthore d’événements artistiques. Cette curiosité réciproque et le besoin de mieux connaître ses voisins européens ont certainement été et sont encore précieux ; cependant, cette vision peut aujourd’hui paraître dépassée. En cherchant une vision pour le futur, l’art ne devrait pas être en compétition avec la science, les statistiques, la finance ou la politique. L’art utilise des outils différents, cherchant à atteindre différents champs d’expérience. Son langage de communication non-verbale, sensuelle inspire un champ de réflexion tout autre. La mission de l’art n’est peut-être pas d’expliquer les choses mais de toucher l’individu d’une manière qui ranime son estime pour sa propre existence, qui soulève des questions concernant l’intégrité du monde aux différents niveaux de pouvoir.

C’est pourquoi l’exposition organisée par la Fondation Mediations Biennale en partenariat avec la Fondation Signum (Poznań) ne proclamera aucune idéologie, ne sera pas une vision futuriste de ce qui nous attend, mais un labyrinthe d’intuitions liées à l’avenir qui se dérobe constamment.

Nous espérons que cette année le Pavillon 0 accompagnera la Biennale de Venise en tant qu’événement artistique transnational ordinaire, un espace de dialogue pour l’art et les artistes avec la réalité, au-delà de toutes les divisions. Pendant l’exposition, un Prix du Lion sera attribué à l’artiste qui exerce le plus d’influence. Il s’agira d’une reproduction fidèle du lion du Palazzo Donà, manufacturé dans un atelier de verre de Murano à Venise.

bio

L’artiste conceptuel belge Koen Vanmechelen (°1965) est réputé internationalement pour son « Cosmopolitan Chicken Project » (Projet de poulet cosmopolite), un projet d’élevage artistique international. Son travail, une ode à la vie, tourne autour de deux thèmes : la diversité bioculturelle, et l’identité. Son outil artistique est le gallus gallus, le poulet domestique et son œuf.

Pour ses projets, l’artiste a collaboré avec des scientifiques du monde entier, issus tant des sciences humaines que des sciences dites « dures ». Cela lui a valu, au printemps 2010, d’être fait docteur honoris causa de l’Université de Hasselt, en Belgique. Toujours en mouvement, il est constamment à la recherche de liens entre son œuvre et le monde.

L’artiste belge Koen Vanmechelen (°1965) est un artiste conceptuel internationalement réputé. Son œuvre révolutionnaire se focalise sur la diversité et l’identité. Au cours de la dernière décennie, Vanmechelen a collaboré avec des scientifiques de différentes disciplines. Cela lui a valu le titre de docteur honoris causa à l’Université de Hasselt cette année.

Peu avant l’an 2000, Koen Vanmechelen a lancé le « Cosmopolitan Chicken Project » (Projet de poulet cosmopolite), un projet artistique singulier. Au cœur de son œuvre se trouvent le poulet domestique (gallus gallus) et le croisement d’espèces nationales de poulets pour en faire des « poulets cosmopolites ». Il utilise cet animal comme métaphore pour ses observations sur la condition humaine. En 2010, il a présenté à l’Exposition universelle de Shanghai la dernière génération, la « Mechelse Silky » (Soyeux de Malines). En 2011 l’artiste a été sélectionné par la Biennale de Venise pour produire un nouveau croisement avec l’« Egyptian Fayoumi » (Fayoumi égyptien) pendant la 54ème Biennale. Vanmechelen utilise un vaste ensemble d’outils artistiques pour son travail – peinture, vidéo, installations, sculpture et verre –, qui comprend trois projets : « Cosmopolitan Chicken Research Project » (Projet de recherche de poulet cosmopolite) ou CC®P, la statue en bois « Cosmogolem » et le projet de fertilité « Walking Egg » (Œuf qui marche). En 2011, les fondations de soutien seront regroupées au sein d’un nouvel institut à Hasselt dont le nom provisoire est « Open University of Diversity » (L’université ouverte de la diversité).
Vanmechelen a exposé son travail sur presque tous les continents, des Etats-Unis à la Chine en passant par l’Islande et le Sénégal. En Belgique son œuvre a été exposée dans de nombreux musées et autres lieux : la Fondation Verbeke, Watou, Musée M, et Z33. Il a également participé à des expositions individuelles et collectives, notamment à la National Gallery de Londres, au Victoria and Albert Museum de Londres, au Museum Kunstpalast de Düsseldorf, au Projects Venice (Venise), au Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ (Amsterdam) et au Musée Pouchkine (Moscou). Il a également été exposé aux Biennales de Venise, Moscou, Dakar et Poznań, et à l’Exposition universelle de Shanghai en 2010.

Koen Vanmechelen vit à Meeuwen-Gruitrode.

*Koen Vanmechelen présentera également deux œuvres à l’événement collatéral Glasstress White Light / White Heat, à deux autres endroits de la Biennale (« Under my skin » – Franchetti | « Patience » – Murano).

www.koenvanmechelen.com
www.pavilion0.net
www.ccrp.be