(SIC) asbl

In Senso Figurato

1 June - 30 September 2013

In Senso Figurato is a creative residency. It will run from 01 June until 30 September 2013 with the aim of seeing the guest artists produce some new work, influenced to a greater or lesser extent by the experience of a stay in Venice for about one week. The output of each artist will be brought together in a collective volume to be published in the autumn of 2013. The project’s visibility will be ensured throughout the Biennale in two ways. Firstly, through the launch of a website aiming essentially to integrate the contributions of each participant anonymously, as if it were the project’s iconographic and digital subconscious. In addition, individual mediation will also be implemented in the form of public events, small or large “gestures” performed by each participant in the course of his or her residency, and also recorded on the website.

A total of 15 visual artists, writers and poets of all ages and from different backgrounds will take part in the event: Claude Cattelain, Jean De Lacoste, Jan Baetens, William Cliff, Lara Gasparotto, Pierre Gérard, Pierre Lauwers, Messieurs Delmotte, Guy-Marc Hinant, Louise Herlemont, Jean-Philippe Toussaint, Thierry Van Hasselt, Raphaël Van Lerberghe, Christophe Terlinden, Thierry Zéno.

Bio 

Jan Baetens (b. 1947): Belgian writer and poet of Flemish origin who writes in French. A professor at the University of Leuven, he is both scholar and author. His work bears in particular on word and image relations. As such he is interested in photographic narratives and comic strips. He is the winner of the 2008 triennial poetry prize of the French-speaking Community for his collection Cent fois sur le métier.

Claude Cattelain (b. 1972): Performer, video-maker and drawer. He generally creates short pieces associated in the form of series that fit in a specific spatial context: that of an immediate, everyday environment. The pieces show the artist either attempting a variety of bizarre actions in a kind of acrobatic and emotional face-to-face with himself, or creating assemblages of heteroclite objects with somewhat anthropomorphic silhouettes that could experience similar adventures. His work has notably been presented at the Palais de Tokyo in Paris, the CRAC Alsace in Altkirch, and the Museum of Fine Arts of Mons.

William Cliff (b. 1940): French-speaking Belgian poet born in Gembloux. His concrete and lyrical poetry inspired by everyday life, his journeys and his readings of late medieval poets drew the attention of his peers early on, including of Raymond Queneau, who sponsored the publication of his first collection Homo sum, published by Gallimard in 1973.

Lara Gasparotto (b. 1989): A young photographer living in Anthisnes, Lara Gasparotto was noticed at the end of her studies already at Saint-Luc University College of the Arts in Liège for her pictures that transcend the codes of photography so as to better grasp the energy of singular, scattered moments in the life and dynamism of youths of which she is a part, a pack composed of old and new friends, living here and there, but always distinct in her explosive and intimate images. Her work has been shown at the Biennale of Marchin, the Guangdong Museum of Art in Guangzhou, and the Three Shadows Photography Art Centre in Beijing.

Pierre Gérard (b. 1966): Commonly developed in the fields of music and the visual arts, the work of Pierre Gérard is a dive into abysses, an immersion into the surrounding world, into the heart of the most intimate substance. Paying careful attention to the secret life of objects and materials, to this life that tends to continue in parallel to the one man arbitrarily attributes to them according to the limited knowledge at his disposal, the artist takes it on himself to listen to them and apprehend them so as to then take hold of them and reorganise them to create associations that update what already takes place at the start, but which one generally passes over absent-mindedly. His work has notably been shown at the Brasseurs in Liège and at the Olivari-Veys Gallery in Brussels.

Louise Herlemont (b. 1980): A visual artist born in La Louvière, the winner of the 2007 Médiatine award, Louise Herlemont works mainly on photography and video in on-site projects. Her work has notably been shown at the Ianchelevici museum of La Louvière, at Etablissement d’en face in Brussels (2003) and at the Brussels Centre for Fine Arts (A4 Project, 2009).

Guy-Marc Hinant: Belgian author, publisher and film-maker born in Charleroi. He is the founder and manager of Sub Rosa, an independent record label that specialises in electronic and avant-garde music. He has notably published the series entitle An Anthology of Noise and Electronic Music. He has written several narrative fragments and notes on aesthetics for Editions de l’Heure as well as several international reviews such Leonardo Music Journal (San Francisco), Luna-Park (Paris) and Lapin (L’Association, Paris). He is the author of several portraits shot in collaboration with Dominique Lohlé, including Le plaisir du regret, a portrait of Leo Kupper in 2003.

Jean de Lacoste (b. 1984): His work unfolds at the intersection of video, installation and musical creation. Active as a musician in the collective Mnόad and in the group Soumonces!, the artist has also developed a very specific filmic writing. Recently presented in several international video art festivals, or in the context of residencies at Wiels in Brussels and BHART#1 in Antwerp but also in the Fine Arts Centre of Charleroi or the Incise Gallery, among other venues, his video films and installations explore the interiority of venues that have been given over to their strangeness and their mysteries. These environments are fashioned by the sensibility of an artist whose gaze explores with the same acuity the poetic potentialities of reality and the means liable to extend and amplify them 

Pierre Lauwers (b. 1964): Blending photography, painting and installation, Pierre Lauwers questions in a tone that is both cheerful and grave the secret undercurrents of the universe and of the immutable and/or hazardous laws that govern it. The stars, the planets, and a fortiori the geometric forms and secrets of science therefore find a way to embody themselves in his pictures through countless tricks. His work has notably been shown at Etablissement d’en face in Brussels, Saint-Luc University College of the Arts in Liège, and the Rossi Contemporary Gallery in Brussels 

Messieurs Delmotte (1967): Messieurs Delmotte creates videos, photographs and installations in which he generally appears in the guise of a dandy, heir to Buster Keaton, casting a gaze that is equally desperate and enthusiastic on his immediate environment, which is quite often the city of Liège and its surroundings. A burlesque philosopher, the author of absurd and biting performances, he is the author of a body of work that is “apparently light” and that has been shown regularly in Belgium (MAMAC, Komplot) and abroad (Hamburg, Lausanne, Rotterdam, etc.) 

Christophe Terlinden (b. 1969): A Brussels-based artist who notably intervenes in the public space to reveal its features, grace, flaws or limits, somewhere between a political denunciation and poetic humour. In 2000 he initiated the LUME project: words formed by the lighting of office windows on the facades of Brussels buildings. In 2002 he designed a new European flag constituted of a continuous circle instead of separate and distinct stars. His work has been shown at M HKA, Wiels, and the Museum of Contemporary Art of Lyon 

Jean-Philippe Toussaint (b. 1957): A writer and film-maker who is sometimes also present in the field of visual arts through his burlesque installations that play with the codes of art exhibitions, Jean-Philippe Toussaint has been publishing novels since the mid 1980s with Editions de Minuit. His novels are driven both by a minimalist vision and a lyrical spirit that is constantly challenged by a certain prosaim, more or less imposed by fashion and modern life. He recently set up an exhibition project with the Louvre Museum in Paris 

Thierry Van Hasselt (b. 1969): A publisher, scenographer, drawer and painter, Thierry Van Hasselt is the leader of the new wave of Belgian comic strips. He is a founding member of Frémok, a Franco-Belgian publishing house that specialises in graphic novels. He lives and works in Brussels.

Raphaël Van Lerberghe (b. 1978): Best known for his work on images, mainly on drawings. The drawn sentences or words map out a world whose coherence is apprehended in a dialogue uniting the works, the exhibition space and the spectator’s gaze. Each proposal is a minimum insert, the support on which the artist elaborates a polysemic composition opening up the field of new possibilities.  He has also devoted himself to the study of sound and is therefore at the source of several audio plays 

Thierry Zéno (b. 1950): Film-maker and visual artist. He became known in 1974 during the screening of his first resounding film at the experimental festival of Knokke: Vase de noces, a tragic love story between a man and a sow, a quest for absoluteness after the fashion of Georges Bataille and that takes the form of a crossing of abjection, a liminal experience praised at the time by Henri Michaux. He is also the co-author of Des morts, an exploration of funerary rites throughout the world. The rest of his work, that sometimes takes the form of video installations, wavers between an ethnographic quest and surrealist references. 

Contact person during the Biennale:
Eleonora Sovrani be: 0032 (0) 471 13 90 70 it: 0039 (0) 349 28 91 102

www.sicsic.be/venise/en/news

(SIC) asbl

In Senso Figurato

1 juin – 24 novembre 2013

In Senso Figurato est une résidence de création, qui se déroule entre le 1er juin et le 30 septembre 2013, dans l’intention de voir les artistes invités produire une œuvre nouvelle, teintée de près ou de loin par l’expérience d’un séjour vénitien d’une semaine environ. La production de chaque artiste sera réunie dans un livre collectif à paraître à l’automne 2013. La visibilité du projet sera assurée tout au long de la Biennale de deux manières. D’abord, par la création d’un site Internet visant essentiellement à intégrer les contributions de chaque participant de manière anonyme, comme un inconscient iconographique et numérique du projet. Mais une médiatisation individuelle sera aussi de mise, sous la forme d’événements publics, de « gestes » parfois infimes réalisés par chaque participant au cours de sa résidence, et répertoriés également sur le site.

Bio

Jan Baetens (1947) : Ecrivain et poète belge d’origine flamande et d'expression française. Professeur à la KUL, il a un profil hybride de chercheur et de créateur. Ses travaux portent spécialement sur les rapports entre le texte et l'image. Il s’intéresse à ce titre au récit photographique et à la bande dessinée. Lauréat du prix triennal de poésie 2008 de la communauté française pour son recueil intitulé Cent fois sur le métier. 

Claude Cattelain (1972) : Performer, vidéaste et dessinateur. Il crée généralement des pièces de courtes durées, associées sous forme de séries, qui s'inscrivent dans un contexte spatial déterminé : celui d’un environnement immédiat, quotidien. Elles donnent à voir tantôt l'artiste qui s'essaie à mille et une actions étranges, dans une sorte de face-à-face acrobatique et émotionnel avec lui-même, tantôt des assemblages d'objets hétéroclites qui esquissent des silhouettes anthropomorphes auxquelles il arriverait de semblables aventures. Travail présenté notamment au Palais de Tokyo à Paris, au CRAC Alsace de Altkirch, au Musée des beaux-arts de Mons.

William Cliff (1940) : Poète belge de langue française né à Gembloux. Sa poésie concrète et lyrique, inspirée par le quotidien, ses voyages et ses lectures des poètes du bas Moyen Age, ont très tôt attiré l'attention de ses pairs, dont Raymond Queneau qui parraina la publication de son premier recueil Homo sum paru en 1973 chez Gallimard.

Lara Gasparotto (1989) : Jeune photographe vivant à Anthisnes, Lara Gasparotto a été remarquée dès la fin de ses études à Saint Luc à Liège pour ses images qui outrepassent les codes de la photographie pour mieux atteindre l'énergie de moments singuliers, épars dans la vie et le mouvement d'une jeunesse qui est sienne, d'une meute composée de vieux amis et de nouveaux, vivant un peu partout mais toujours élus dans ses images explosives et intimes. Travail exposé à la biennale de Marchin, au Guangdong Museum of Arts de Guangzhou et au 3-Shadows Photography Art Center de Pékin.

Pierre Gérard (1966) : Développé communément dans les domaines de la musique et des arts plastiques, le travail de Pierre Gérard est une plongée en abysses, une immersion dans le monde environnant, au sein de sa substance la plus intime. Attentif à la vie secrète des objets et des matières, à cette vie qui tend à se poursuivre en parallèle à celle que l’homme leur attribue arbitrairement, selon les connaissances restreintes dont il dispose, l’artiste entreprend de les écouter, de les appréhender, pour ensuite s’en saisir et les réorganiser en des associations qui mettent à jour ce qui a déjà lieu au départ mais sur lequel on passe en général distraitement. Son travail a notamment été exposé aux Brasseurs à Liège et à la galerie Olivari-Veys à Bruxelles. 

Louise Herlemont (1980) : Plasticienne née à La Louvière, Lauréate du prix Médiatine en 2007, Louise Herlemont travaille principalement la photographie et la vidéo qu’elle développe dans des projets in situ. Elle a notamment exposé au Musée Ianchelevici de La Louvière, à Etablissement d’en face (2003), au Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles (Projet A4, 2009).

Guy-Marc Hinant : Auteur, éditeur et cinéaste belge né à Charleroi. Il dirige le label indépendant Sub Rosa spécialisé en musique électronique et d'avant-garde dont il est le créateur. Il y édite la série An Anthology of Noise and Electronic Music. Il a écrit plusieurs fragments narratifs et notes sur l'esthétique pour les Éditions de l'Heure, diverses revues internationales telles que Leonardo Music Journal (SF), Luna-Park (Paris) et pour la revue Lapin (L'Association, Paris). Il est l’auteur de plusieurs portraits filmés en collaboration avec Dominique Lohlé, dont Le plaisir du regret, un portrait de Léo Kupper en 2003.

Jean de Lacoste (1984) : poursuit un travail qui oscille entre la vidéo, l’installation et la création musicale. Musicien actif dans le collectif Mnόad et le groupe Soumonces !, l’artiste a aussi développé une écriture filmique très singulière. Récemment présentés dans certains festivals d’art vidéo internationaux, ou dans le cadre des résidences du Wiels et au BHART#1 à Anvers, mais aussi au Palais des Beaux Arts de Charleroi ou à la galerie Incise, entre autres lieux, ses films et installations vidéo explorent l’intériorité de lieux rendu à leurs étrangeté et leurs mystères. Autant d’univers modelés par la sensibilité d’un regard explorant avec la même acuité les potentialités poétiques du réel que les moyens à mêmes de les étendre et de les amplifier.

Pierre Lauwers (1964): Réalisant un travail qui se développe dans les domaines de la photographie, de la peinture et de l’installation, Pierre Lauwers questionne sur un ton tout à la fois enjoué et grave les ressorts secrets de l’univers et des lois immuables et/ou hasardeuses qui le gouvernent. Les astres, les planètes, et a fortiori les formes géométriques et les secrets de la science trouvent ainsi à s’incarner dans ses images par mille et une astuces détournées. Son travail a été exposé à Etablissement d’en face à Bruxelles, à l’institut Saint Luc de Liège, et à la galerie Rossi Contemporary à Bruxelles. 

Messieurs Delmotte (1967) : Messieurs Delmotte crée des vidéos, photographies et installations dans lesquelles il surgit le plus souvent sous les traits d’un dandy, héritier de Buster Keaton, posant un regard tout aussi désolé qu’enthousiaste sur son environnement immédiat, qui se trouve être bien souvent la ville de Liège et sa périphérie. Philosophe burlesque, auteur de performances absurdes et caustiques, il est l'auteur d'une œuvre « apparemment légère » qui a été régulièrement montrée en Belgique (MAMAC, Komplot) et à l’étranger (Hambourg, Lausanne, Rotterdam…). 

Christophe Terlinden (1969) : Artiste bruxellois intervenant notamment dans l’espace public pour en révéler les caractéristiques, la grâce, les failles ou les limites. Entre dénonciation politique et humour poétique. En 2000, il initie le projet LUME : des mots formés par l’éclairage des fenêtres de bureaux sur les façades des buildings bruxellois. Il a également conçu en 2002 un nouveau drapeau européen constitué d’un cercle continu en lieu et place d’étoiles séparées et distinctes. Ses œuvres ont été exposées au MUHKA, au Wiels et au Musée d'Art contemporain de Lyon.

Jean-Philippe Toussaint (1957) : Ecrivain et cinéaste, également présent par intermittence dans le milieu des arts plastiques par le biais d’installations burlesques jouant sur les codes de l’exposition, Jean-Philippe Toussaint publie depuis le milieu des années 1980 des romans aux Editions de Minuit, animés tout à la fois d’une exigence minimaliste et d’un souffle lyrique constamment mis à l’épreuve d’un certain prosaïsme, peu ou prou imposé par le mode et le cadre de la vie moderne. A récemment mis en place un projet d’exposition avec le Musée du Louvre à Paris. 

Thierry Van Hasselt (1969) : Editeur, scénographe, dessinateur, peintre, Thierry Van Hasselt est le chef de file de la nouvelle vague de la bande dessiné belge. Il est un membre fondateur du Frémok, maison d’édition franco-belge spécialisée dans la littérature graphique. Il vit et travaille à Bruxelles.

Raphaël Van Lerberghe (1978) : est principalement connu pour son travail sur l’image, en grande partie consacrée au dessin. Les phrases ou mots dessinés balisent un univers dont la cohérence s’appréhende dans un dialogue  unissant  les œuvres, le contexte d’exposition et le regard du spectateur.  Chaque proposition est un insert minimum, le point d’appui à partir duquel l’artiste élabore un agencement polysémique ouvrant le champ de nouveaux possibles. Il s’est aussi attaché à l’étude du son et est ainsi à l’origine de plusieurs pièces sonores. 

Thierry Zéno (1950) : Cinéaste et plasticien. Il s'est fait connaître en 1974 lors de la projection de son premier film retentissant au festival expérimental de Knokke : Vase de noces, histoire d'amour tragique entre un homme et une truie, une quête bataillienne d'absolu prenant la forme d'une traversée de l'abjection, une expérience-limite louée en son temps par Henri Michaux. Il est également le co-auteur de Des morts, une exploration des rites funéraires à travers le monde. Le reste de son œuvre, prenant parfois la forme d'installations vidéos, se partage entre la quête ethnographique et la référence surréaliste.

Contacte pendant la Biennale:
Eleonora Sovrani be: 0032 (0) 471 13 90 70 it: 0039 (0) 349 28 91 102


www.sicsic.be/venise/en/news