Thierry De Cordier

Central Pavilion
55th International Art Exhibition
la Biennale di Venezia
1 juni – 24 november 2013

Thierry De Cordier shows nine paintings which fill the four walls of room 9 of the Central pavilion. His work is juxtaposed to an early sculpture Richard Serra in the middle of the room. In this installation the two artists reflect, both in their own way, on the relation horizontal-vertical.

Bio

Thierry De Cordier is a philosopher, performer, sculptor, writer and poet. As a young artist, he lived a nomadic existence that caused him to reflect upon architecture as a model for social relations. For a long time, his garden was a substitute and a metaphor for the world. Later, he turned his back to the world to look at the sea. Thierry De Cordier is an existential artist who tries to understand the world through his own experience. His work is the result of a personal quest: a search for his own identity, his relationship to the world, and his role within society. His work, in which the infinitely small is reflected in the infinitely big, develops organically from his inner psyche. In the last few decades, Thierry De Cordier has dedicated himself to painting. Recurrent themes include mountains, seascapes and desolate landscapes that are partly inspired by the vast, black and white topographical paintings made in China during the 10th and 11th century, yet capture the essential qualities of the landscape and light of Northern Europe. The grey skies and ink black seas of his monochromatic paintings evoke melancholy, with the most dramatic scenes being those in which waves and mountainous cliffs fuse together to embody the forces of nature within a single primal image.
A large room dedicated to De Cordier’s work forms part of the Venice Biennale 2013 and can be seen in the exhibition The Encyclopaedic Palace in the central pavilion. Recent solo exhibitions include Landschappen at BOZAR, Brussels (2012), and exhibitions of drawings at the Centre Pompidou, Paris (2007). He was responsible for the Belgian Pavilion at the Venice Biennale in 1997. His monumental public work De Kapel van het Niets, in the garden of the Sint-Norbertus psychiatric hospital in Duffel, Belgium, was inaugurated in 2007.
Thierry De Cordier was born in Oudenaarde, Belgium, in 1954. The artist currently lives in Ostend, Belgium.

Photography © 2013 Dirk Pauwels, Gent
Courtesy the Artist and Xavier Hufkens, Brussels

Thierry De Cordier

Central Pavilion
55ème Exposition internationale d’art contemporain
la Biennale di Venezia
1er juin – 24 novembre 2013

Thierry De Cordier expose neuf peintures qui emplissent les quatre murs de la salle 9 du pavillon central. Son œuvre est juxtaposée à une ancienne sculpture de Richard Serra au milieu de la pièce. Avec cette installation, les deux artistes réfléchissent, chacun à leur manière, à la relation entre l’horizontalité et la verticalité.

bio

Thierry De Cordier est philosophe, performeur, sculpteur, écrivain et poète. Jeune artiste, il a vécu une existence nomade qui l’a amené à réfléchir à l’architecture comme modèle pour les relations sociales. Pendant longtemps, son jardin a servi de substitut au monde et de métaphore pour celui-ci. Plus tard, il a tourné le dos au monde pour contempler la mer. Thierry De Cordier est un artiste existentiel qui tente de comprendre le monde à travers sa propre expérience. Son œuvre est le résultat d’une quête personnelle : une quête de sa propre identité, de sa relation au monde et de son rôle dans la société. Son œuvre, dans laquelle l’infiniment petit est réfléchi dans l’infiniment grand, se développe de manière organique à partir de sa psyché intérieure. Ces dernières décennies, Thierry De Cordier s’est consacré à la peinture. Parmi ses thèmes récurrents on trouve les montagnes, les paysages marins, et les paysages désolés qui sont en partie inspirés des vastes peintures topographiques en noir et blanc réalisées en Chine aux 11ème et 12ème siècle, et qui pourtant saisissent les qualités essentielles des paysages et de la lumière de l’Europe du Nord. Les ciels gris et les mers noir d’encre de ses monochromes évoquent la mélancolie, les scènes les plus dramatiques étant celles dans lesquelles les vagues et les falaises montagneuses fusionnent et incarnent les forces de la nature au sein d’une seule image primale.

Une vaste salle dédiée à l’œuvre de De Cordier est intégrée à la Biennale de Venise 2013 et est visible dans l’exposition « Le palais encyclopédique » dans le pavillon central. Parmi ses récentes expositions individuelles, citons « Paysages » au Bozar à Bruxelles (2012) et une exposition de dessins au Centre Pompidou à Paris (2007). Il a été le curateur du pavillon belge à la Biennale de Venise en 1997. « La chapelle du néant », une œuvre publique monumentale située dans le jardin de l’hôpital psychiatrique Sint-Norbertus à Duffel, en Belgique, fut inaugurée en 2007.

Thierry De Cordier est né à Audenarde (Belgique) en 1954. Il vit actuellement à Ostende (Belgique).